Visit to see Tenacity of Bolton 

On Saturday April 11th the Sail Training Vessel, TENACITY of BOLTON is planning to be in Whitehaven.

Through the Whitehaven Sailing and Boating Association arrangements have been made to have a look around the boat on that date.

It may be of particular interest to those under 25 as they would normally form members of the crew sailing in the Tall Ships Youth Trust Fleet. Tenacity is more a “Small” Tall Ship having come about from an ambitious school project. Just like building a Mirror Dinghy in the woodwork class in the 1960s.

The boat will be working out of Whitehaven this summer in a similar way to the Ocean Youth Trust, North East, boat James Cook that Izzy and Harry went on last year.

Hope the variety of sailing opportunities is not too confusing. It is great that there are the opportunities available for young people especially working out of the local area. A different sailing experience to the racing at Bass but the sailing skills are equally transferable and above all both are an equally enjoyable experience.

The Tall Ships Youth Trust came from the Sail Training Organisation who seem to be bringing in more small vessels to their fleets.

At this stage we have arranged to take a party of 10 people at 10:00 on the 11 April. Whilst it has been agreed to bring it to the notice of Bassenthwaite SC it is open to any one who may have an interest in seeing a sea going boat first hand that is available to young people. If over subscribed, preference will be given to young people.

Please let Andy Sugden know if anyone may wish to join in.

It is fully appreciated that some Bass SC family members may have other sailing commitments on the day and that Neil will have his new training programmes underway now that the season has started.

If anyone has an interest in sailing on larger vessels Andy may be able to give some details of contacts especially with the Ocean Youth Trust in either the North East or the Scotland group.

An alternative may be a trip on Arthur Ransome’s boat Nancy Blackett.

Perhaps not with Andy on board as set this historical vessel alight, had a “collision” – from the set of the sails he was on port but not capable of making way from a lack of wind and close to running aground – then was towed into Southwold by the RNLI when the gearbox seized.

Posted in News

The Starter’s Prize

 Despite a long close season, AJ was not the only person to be making last minute adjustments to his boat (well it was so last minute that he didn’t even get to race).

The forecast for the day was suggested to be death defying but the Bass micro climate came into its own and the winds proved to be temptingly sailable, dry, but cold. However, before racing could commence, the Bates had to be made ready

  • Anchor? Check. Tied on? Check.
  • Mast? Where are the nuts? Bamboo poles will do for the flags. Check
  • Course board (and pole)? Check
  • Course numbers? Check
  • Horn? Fail (no mast). Fog horn? Fail (no canisters). Spare horn? Check (phew)

On the way to set the start an alarm started to sound for the engine. Chief engineer Macpherson was ‘invited ‘ aboard to investigate, and determined that the coolant drain plug was not present and correct. Oops.

Excitement over it was time for the first race. Ethan’s close season sailing put him in good stead for the best start of the seven starters, though Dave And Sarah didn’t prove to be a great challenge after ‘starting’ several minutes late, the wrong side of the committee boat, and subsequently retiring after realising he wasn’t wearing his buoyancy aid!

No real excitement during the race which was won by Mike/Kayla, with Ethan 2nd.

After Kayla had filled the competition with a variety of delicious cakes after lunch, racing was underway again in some stronger winds. Award for the first racing capsize of the season goes to vice commodore Robbie D/Peter W in a RS400, though son Ethan was a close 2nd!

Mike chalked up another 1st, with Chay 2nd in a Laser.

Overall winner was Mike/Kayla, with Ethan 2nd, and Tog in his Solo 3rd.

Final results 

Posted in News

Laser Coaching

This RYA sponsored one day coaching event is a great opportunity aimed at youth sailors moving from Junior classes such as Toppers, Teras and Oppies into Lasers. It is aimed at those who are keen racers but new to the laser class. It is open to all sailors in NE England .   

Posted in News

Final Countdown 

With just a week to go, are you ready for the sailing season? What will your priorities be? Getting the boat ready and repairing those control lines that were wearing through last season? Shedding a few more pounds, or buying a larger dry suit that must have shrunk due to lack of use through the close season?

No more excuses, time is almost up. The first race starts on Sunday 29 March at 1130 BST (Yes clocks go forward one hour that morning!)

Posted in News

Winter Walk

Perhaps the title says it all!

Not all those that started the walk through Dodd Wood made it to the top, here’s those that did!



Posted in News

Restoration/Repair Project

My Scorpion’s fore deck was damaged when a visiting worker dropped something through it. The insurance would only give me the boat’s market value, which was less than the repair cost.

The boat is in reasonable condition and very enjoyable to sail.
I hope someone (apprentice at a boat yard?) would like to repair/restore this boat.

If so, please come and take it away, on its trailer – with mast, boom, rudder, sails (main, jib & spinnaker).

Robin Le Mare
Laburnum House, The Square
LA11 7QE
01539 532 497


Posted in News

Live Webcam

Live - Updated every 20 secs


BData Courtesy and © Environment Agency

Dutyman Rota

Scan QR code to Download Rota Download Dutyman

Site Meter

Upcoming Events

6:30 pm Easter Saturday Buffet 2015
Easter Saturday Buffet 2015
Apr 4 @ 6:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Bring and eat buffet  
all-day Children’s Easter Egg Hunt/Egg D...
Children’s Easter Egg Hunt/Egg D...
Apr 5 all-day
Enjoy some Easter fun for kids of all ages. The egg dumping will take place after racing.  
all-day GNAC 2015 @ Bassenthwaite SC
GNAC 2015 @ Bassenthwaite SC
Apr 25 – Apr 26 all-day
Open meeting for all asymmetric fleets. To be sailed on a windward/leeward course. 8 races scheduled. 1st race 1300hrs
7:00 pm GNAC Social 2015
GNAC Social 2015
Apr 25 @ 7:00 pm – 10:45 pm
Killer pool competition
all-day Catapult Open 2015 @ Bassenthwaite SC
Catapult Open 2015 @ Bassenthwaite SC
May 2 – May 4 all-day
Three day open meeting for Catapults 6 races scheduled 1st race 1300hrs  

View Calendar