Category: Championship

Annual Dinner

2018 annual prize giving and dinner dance was held at the Crown Hotel, Wetheral and attended by 90 members and their guests. Commodore Robin Dawson gave a brief resume of the season before presenting the trophies.

Vice Commodore Naomi Smith thanked Robin for his efforts over his two years as Commodore and presented him with a photo






  Flying Fifteen Club Championship
Brackenrigg Cup (1st) Mike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Anderson Trophy (2nd) Ian Campbell & Lezli-Ann Pearson
  Wheel Trophy (3rd) Neil Currie & Rory Yardley
  Maurice Dalton Memorial Trophy (4th) Angus Corry & Mike Hunter
Lawson Trophy (1st classic) Wendy & John Somerville
  Handicap Club Championship
  Osprey Trophy (1st) Joe Roberts
Read full article “Annual Dinner”

Annual Prize Giving

So we can prepare for our Annual Prize Giving Dinner Dance, please can last year’s prizewinners return all club racing trophies to the Committee Room by Friday November 16 at the latest.

Flying Fifteen Club Championship
Brackenrigg Cup (1st)Mike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Anderson Trophy (2nd)Ian Campbell & Lezli-Ann Pearson
Wheel Trophy (3rd)Neil Currie & Rory Yardley
Maurice Dalton Memorial Trophy (4th)Angus Corry & Mike Hunter
Lawson Trophy (1st classic)Wendy & John Somerville
Handicap Club Championship
Osprey Trophy (1st)Joe Roberts
T.S.B Trophy (2nd)Steve Hunt & Ruth Critchley
Eagle Trophy (3rd)Mark Somerville
Kirk Decanter (4th)Alex & Olivia Leonard
1972 Trophy (1st junior)Ciaran McKettrick
Arthur Carr Trophy (1st Laser)Joe Roberts
GP14 Club Championship
Elwyn Banner Mendus Cup (1st)Dave & Lynn Lawson
Philp Prize (2nd)Mike Fairlamb & Eric Smith
Twiname Prize (3rd)Val & Ken Bell
Hatrick Prize (4th)Alan Jones & Sue Watson
Beginners PrizeMark & Helen Hunt
Slow Handicap Club Championship
Mirror Trophy (1st)Phil & Oliver Smith
Bassenthwaite Bell (year 1 progress)Katia Smith
Excalibur Trophy (1st not Mirror/Topper)Matthew Somerville
The Kirkpatrick Trophy (1st Topper)Paul Gannon
Iberia Cup (1st under 16)Josh Hunter
Flying Fifteen Series Trophies
Blencathra TrophyMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Scarness CupMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Dawson TrophyMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Morgan TrophyMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Flying Enterprise TrophyMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Bryson helms (Fleet B)Mike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Easterly TrophyIan Campbell & Lezli-Ann Pearson
Jak PotSimon Longstaff & Jon Denwood
Ullock MugNeil Currie & Rory Yardley
Transom TrophyNeil Currie & Rory Yardley
Denton Trophy (Night Jar)Tim Knowles & Martin Statter
Handicap Series Trophies
May Holiday CupMark Somerville
Grisedale CupMark Somerville
August CupMark Somerville
Comet TrophyMark Somerville
Dodd TrophyJoe Roberts
Wythop PlateJoe Roberts
Skiddaw TrophyJoe Roberts
Barf PlateSteve Hunt & Ruth Critchley
Isel CupAlex & Olivia Leonard
Spring Holiday Plate (Fleet A)Stan Barton
Foxtail Trophy (Fleet B)Mike Fairlamb
Evening Plate (Night Jar overall winner)  John Reekie
Easter Holiday TrophyTony King
GP14 Series Trophies
Bass TankardDave & Lynn Lawson
Aitken CupDave & Lynn Lawson
Harney Hetherington Trophy (Fleet A) Dave & Lynn Lawson
Lyne TankardDave & Lynn Lawson
Mustard PotDave & Lynn Lawson
Commodores PrizeDave & Lynn Lawson & Ken Bell
Spring Cup (The Jak Plak)Mike Fairlamb & Eric Smith
Graham CupMike Fairlamb & Eric Smith
Night Jar Mike Fairlamb & Eric Smith
McMillan Cup (June Cup)Mike Fairlamb & Eric Smith
Ross Wear Helm (Fleet B)Val & Ken Bell
Stables PrizePaul & Vicky Bowmer
Autumn CupNigel Lewis & Glenys Kett
Slow Handicap Series Trophies
Reflection TrophyPhil & Oliver Smith
AB SeriesPhil & Oliver Smith
Round Table TankardPhil & Oliver Smith
Peel PotPhil & Oliver Smith
Windfall Trophy (Fleet A)Mik Chappell
The Albert Bates TrophyMik Chappell
Singlehanded TrophyMik Chappell
M Series (Night Jar PH winner & 1st Mirror)Katia & Andy Smith
Red Sails TrophyJonathan & Henry Bullen
Image TankardPhil & Rory Davenport
Orsova CupPaul & Emily Clark
Races & Series for All Classes
October Sat Series FHDave & Lynn Lawson
October Sat Series PHDave & Lynn Lawson
October Sun Series FHDave & Lynn Lawson
October Sun Series PHDave & Lynn Lawson
Jubilee Sailing TrustDave & Lynn Lawson
Eric Twiname Trust / Bass BurgeeDave Lawson & Joe Roberts
Banana StakesMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Albert Bates RetirementMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Celebrity Glass TrophyMike Moore & Michaela Sheard
Starters Prize  Phil & Naomi Smith
Calvert Trust PennantSteve Hunt & Ruth Critchley
Tinker TrophyAnthony Woodyer & Joanna Van Lachterop
Paul Carruthers Memorial TrophyJoe Roberts
Night Jar under 16Katia Smith
Ladies RaceVal Bell & Rhonwen Bryce
Senior RaceMike Fairlamb & Ken Bell
Junior RaceJames Reekie
2017 Winter Series Personal HandicapPaul Gannon
2017 Winter Series Fleet HandicapJim Christie
Jimmy Lancaster Memorial TrophyAlan Jones & Sue Watson
RNLI PennantPaul & Vicky Bowmer
Max Joule Memorial TrophyMik Chappell
Special Prizes
Sandra’s SalverMichaela Sheard
The Roger Pryde Memorial TrophyTBA
Consistency CupTBA

Read full article “Annual Prize Giving”

September Sunshine

September is drawing to a close, and the temperature dipping, but the sun shone for an afternoon of medium winds to power the fleets around the course. With a couple of incidents before the start Nigel didn’t actually make it over the start line… First of all Paul got his Laser’s mainsheet caught around the bow of Nigel’s GP, causing Paul to capsize, and then be towed backwards!… Read full article “September Sunshine”

What Happened There?

While the rest of the country enjoyed more sunshine, the lake was cloud covered all afternoon, though there was no sign of showers that were evident just a matter of miles away. There was a promising southerly force 2 breeze when the start line was set, but the risk of a swing to the south west came to fruition much sooner than expected when it affected boats on the first beat!… Read full article “What Happened There?”